Let's Keep In Touch - We'll Keep You In The Loop

Leadership Counts-Anti-Bear Referendum Coalition

In response to the recent announcement that the Humane Society of the United States is planning to gather signatures for another bear referendum to ban hounding, trapping and baiting, we have begun building a coalition to oppose the referendum. Many leaders and organizations are publicly opposing the bear referendum. If your legislator is on the list, please thank them. It takes a lot of courage to lead on such controversial issues, Democrats, Republicans and Un-enrolled alike are putting aside their political differences to support our hunting heritage. Thank you!


Sportsman’s Alliance of Maine – SAM United States Sportsman’s Alliance
Maine Professional Guides Association Maine Bowhunter’s Association
Maine Trapper’s Association MTA National Rifle Association NRA
IAMAW District Lodge #4 Maine Farm Bureau
Safari Club International Maine Chapter Maine Forest Products Council
Downeast Houndsmen Maine Sporting Dogs Association
Maine Snowmobile Association Maine State Council of Machinists
Maine Council AFL-CIO Pine Tree Coon Cat & Bear Hunters
North Maine Woods Virginia Bear Hunters Association
Federation of Maine Dog Clubs and Responsible Owners Maine Tourism Association


Candidates for Governor

Governor Paul LePage Congressman Mike Michaud   Eliot Cutler

Candidates for Congress

Bruce Poliquin Kevin Raye Blaine Richardson
Richard Rosen Senator Troy Jackson Senator Emily Cain

Current State Senators and Representatives

Rep. Stacey Guerin (R-Glenburn) Rep. Jeffery Gifford (R-Lincoln)
Rep. Windol Weaver (R-York) Rep. Ricky Long (R-Sherman)
Rep. Jeffrey Evangelos (I-Friendship) Rep. Peter Johnson (R-Greenville)
Sen. Troy Jackson (D-District 35) Rep. Sheryl Briggs (D-Mexico)
Rep. Paul Gilbert (D-Jay) Rep. Larry Dunphy (R-Embden)
Rep. Stephen Wood (R-Sabattus) Rep. Peter Doak (R-Columbia Falls)
Sen. David Dutrumble (D-District 4) Rep. Michael Shaw (D-Standish)
Rep. Raymond Wallace (R-Dexter) Rep. Joyce Maker (R-Calais)
Rep. Jarrod Crockett (R-Bethel) Rep. Jeffery Timberlake (R-Turner)
Rep. Walter Kumiega (D-Deer Isle) Rep. Brian Duprey (R-Hampden)
Rep. Thomas Tyler (R-Windham) Rep. Joyce Fitzpatrick (R-Houlton)
Sen. John Patrick (D-District 14) Rep. David Johnson (R-Eddington)
Rep. Ellen Winchenbach (R-Waldoboro) Rep. Tom Winsor (R-Norway)
Sen. Colleen Lachowicz (D-District 25) Rep. Tyler Clark (R-Easton)
Rep. H. David Cotta (R-China) Rep. Brian Jones (D-Freedom)
Rep. Dean Cray (R-Palmyra) Rep. Jethro Pease (R-Morrill)
Rep. Eleanor Espling (R-New Gloucester) Rep. James Gillway (R-Searsport)
Sen. David Burns (R-District 29) Rep. Corey Wilson (R-Augusta)
Rep. Deborah Sanderson (R-Chelsea) Sen. Roger Katz (R- District 24)
Rep. Dale Crafts (R-Lisbon) Sen. Anne Haskell (D-District 9)
Rep. Alexander Willette (R-Mapleton) Rep. Beth Turner (R-Burlington)
Rep. James Campbell (I-Newfield) Rep. Bob Nutting (R-Oakland)
Rep. Kenneth Fredette (R-Newport) Rep. Bill Noon (D-Sanford)
Rep. Robert Saucier (D-Presque Isle) Sen. James Hamper (R-District 13)
Rep. Carol McElwee (R-Caribou) Rep. Wayne Parry (R-Arundel)
Sen. Andre Cushing (R-District 33) Sen. Thomas Saviello (R-District 18)
Rep. Tim Marks (D-Pittston) Sen. Mike Thibodeau (R – District 23)
Rep. Stephen Stanley (D-Medway) Rep. Mike McClellan (R-Raymond)
Rep. Russell Black (R-Wilton) Rep. Joseph Brooks (U-Winterport)
Rep. Bernard Ayotte (R-Caswell) Rep. Richard Campbell (R-Orrington)
Rep. Paul Davis (R-Sangerville) Rep. Stanley Short (D-Pittsfield)
Sen. Rodney Whittemore (R-Skowhegan) Sen. Garrett Mason (R-Lisbon Falls)
Rep. Donald Marean (R-Hollis) Rep. Mathew Pouliot (R-Augusta)
Rep. Lance Harvell (R-Farmington) Sen. Edward Youngblood (R-Brewer)
Rep. Dennis Keschl (R-Belgrade) Rep. Roger Reed (R-Carmel)
Rep. Richard Malaby (R-Hancock)  Rep. Amy Volk (R-Scarborough)
Senator Emily Cain (D-Orono)  Rep. Jeff McCabe (D-Skowhegan)
Senator Roger Sherman (R-District 34)
**Bolded names indicate legislative leadership.

Outdoor Organizations

Presque Isle Fish and Game Club Penobscot Long Rifles
Wiscasset Rod and Gun Club Durham Rod and Gun Club
North Berwick Rod and Gun Club Penobscot County Conservation Association
Falmouth Rod and Gun Club Bucks Mills Rod and Gun Club
Norway-Paris Fish & Game Association Wilton Fish and Game Club
Rangeley Region Guides and Sportsmen's Association The Alewife Harvesters of Maine
Maine Elver Fisherman Association
Paid for and Authorized by the Maine Wildlife Conservation Council. 205 Church Hill Road, Augusta, Maine 04330.
We encourage voters to oppose the referendum and allow our public, professional biologists to continue to manage Maine's bear population with our nationally recognized bear management program.